cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What would you do if you wanted to retire? Running a successful store. Best ideas on how to do it?

Okay. Please, serious responses. I am 75 yrs. old and have a number of other things I want to do in the time I have left.

I'm pretty savvy. I've been a business broker in my past, so I know how to sell a business with real estate, goodwill, inventory, etc.

This is a totally different ballgame.

I know that the account can't be sold or transferred. 

I have a successful store, inventory of about $100K retail value. 90% jewelry. Collectables. 

I'm willing to allow all pictures, listings to be transferred on active listings (3400). I can't help but think that is a big time saver for a buyer. 

I can offer some training, tips, etc. 

How would you go about it?  What value would you estimate?  Do you know anyone who has done the 'sale' well?

I would also consider a trade of assets. Something to think about. 

Message 1 of 52
latest reply
51 REPLIES 51

What would you do if you wanted to retire? Running a successful store. Best ideas on how to do it?

@bill.purvis2012 wrote:

Okay. Please, serious responses. I am 75 yrs. old and have a number of other things I want to do in the time I have left.

I'm pretty savvy. I've been a business broker in my past, so I know how to sell a business with real estate, goodwill, inventory, etc.

This is a totally different ballgame.

I know that the account can't be sold or transferred. 

I have a successful store, inventory of about $100K retail value. 90% jewelry. Collectables. 

I'm willing to allow all pictures, listings to be transferred on active listings (3400). I can't help but think that is a big time saver for a buyer. 

I can offer some training, tips, etc. 

How would you go about it?  What value would you estimate?  Do you know anyone who has done the 'sale' well?

I would also consider a trade of assets. Something to think about.