cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

North Carolina Facilitator Law Help

Can someone help?  I am new to selling and live in North Carolina.  I put up approximately 250 baseball cards and made approximately $6000 (did not imagine it would be that much by the way) and that got me thinking about taxes.  These laws are so confusing.  I don't plan on selling more and don't want a store front, i was just essentially cleaning out my closet. 

When i read the marketplace facilitator law it says "Marketplace facilitators and marketplace sellers having either gross sales in excess of one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) sourced to North Carolina, including marketplace-facilitated sales and sales as a marketplace seller, or two hundred (200) or more separate transactions sourced to North Carolina for the previous or current calendar year (collectively “Threshold”) are engaged in business in North Carolina for sales and use tax purposes." 

I am clearly not over the $100,000 but i have more than 200 transactions, whatever that means (i'm assuming a seller paying through Paypal).  The law also says i need to register for a sales tax license, at least how i am reading this.

Most other states say "$100K AND 200 + transactions".

I understand i might have to mention that i had some new income but do I need to get a tax license just because i'm selling a few things from my closet?

This **bleep** is so confusing (probably on purpose) as they refer to everything as a business when i'm just an average joe selling some stuff i don't want around anymore.

thanks

Message 1 of 3
latest reply
2 REPLIES 2