cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

shipping dishes

I am experimenting with trying to sell dishes and I am anxious to get it right in terms of packing them to ship. I am wondering if any of you pros were ever told you overdid it with packing? Maybe meaning the boxes then weighed too much? 

Message 1 of 16
latest reply
15 REPLIES 15

Re: shipping dishes

I'm no pro, but was never told I over did it on packaging.

Have a great day
Message 2 of 16
latest reply

@keziak 

I have sold lots of dishes, both individual and in sets of up to 12. Dishes can be packed with lots of padding and still break due to shock when dropped if they are not packed properly. I put pieces of small bubble wrap or 1/8 thick foam between each plate and stack them together. Here is the key part, you need to compress the entire stack together so they become one large block so the dishes do not rattle or move when dropped.

I cut the bubbles a bit larger so there are corners sticking out at least an inch from the edge of the plates and then tape (and compress) using the corners to keep the tape off the plates. I then wrap the entire stack in larger bubbles and then fill the rest of the box with packing peanuts. I have shipped hundreds of plates this way and have (knock on wood) not had any breakage. I started using this method of packing many years ago after I had one plate in the middle of a stack break. This also works for bowls as well.

lisa5768
Volunteer Community Mentor

Message 3 of 16
latest reply

this is what I'm doing but I wonder if I am going to be less competitive if my boxes end up being bigger than other sellers'. I am more concerned about getting it right though. I'm just starting out. I've only shipped two packages so far. I haven't heard back about anything breaking, whew. 

This is way more time consuming than shipping books but I'm  hoping will give me extra items to sell. 

Message 4 of 16
latest reply