cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buyer Issue

Two days ago a buyer opened a return request and stated the item arrived broken. She said "I can send photos from my phone but not this computer. Please give me an address to send the photos from my phone."

I sent a message giving her my phone number so she could send pictures from her phone to mine. After several hours she had not responded so I sent another message giving her my email address,along with my phone number again, and stated she could send the pictures to either place. It has been two days.She has still not sent the pictures or responded in any way.

I do not want to pay postage on having a broken item returned to me, but I also want to see pictures before I refund.

I have very little experience handling something like this. Should I call ebay?

Message 1 of 8
latest reply
7 REPLIES 7

Buyer Issue

I don't refund anyone until it is returned to me or pictures provided so I can file a claim thru the post office. You need to keep messaging thru email. Ebay can see the emails not your phone messages. Just see what happens and go that route don't message thru the phone at all no protection there. 

Message 2 of 8
latest reply

Buyer Issue

Hi,  Yes I would call E-Bay.  They will help you.

Message 3 of 8
latest reply

Buyer Issue

@garnetteb wrote:

I do not want to pay postage on having a broken item returned to me, but I also want to see pictures before I refund.

I have very little experience handling something like this. Should I call ebay?

Three things:

1. eBay customer service is not going to be of any help ... they will tell you to satisfy the claim.  In a worse case scenario, they sometimes give advice that ends up harming sellers, and eBay does not typically stand by the poor advice they give.
  2. A customer does not have to send you photos on a broken item claim with the Money Back Guarantee.