cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I keep undesirable buyers from purchasing my items?

By undesirable, I mean buyers that have an "Unregistered" account (to my understanding, these are users without a verified Paypal who are paying via credit card) or "Non-US, Unverified" accounts with Paypal.

I am just starting out selling on ebay and right now I sell only electronics, so I am very wary of putting myself at risk for potential scams.

I have read a lot of horror stories about credit card chargebacks and also about international buyers who use freight forwarding companies to circumvent the fact that I do not sell internationally.

I have been playing around with different "requirements" in my listings, ranging from this:

No international buyers. Orders using a freight company will be cancelled. You must have a feedback score of at least 10, and an account that is at least 1 month old or the order will be cancelled!

To this which is more extreme:

Due to the hurricanes, orders to addresses in Florida CANNOT be processed right now!

No international buyers. You must have a feedback score of at least 10, and an account that is at least 1 month old or the order will be cancelled!

The reason I chose to use the hurricane as an excuse not to sell to Florida addresses is because I noticed that is where almost all of the international buyers using a freight forwarding company are located.

I realize to a seasoned seller all of my concerns may seem totally irrational and ridiculous, however I am merely looking to protect myself since I am just starting out and want to try to cut down on potential scams.

I understand "seller" protection and shipping all packages with tracking and signature confirmation, but I am still weary.

Can anyone tell me how to prevent people with an "Unregistered" Paypal or people with a "Non-US, Unverified" Paypal from buying my lots?