cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2022 - 20k Sales reported how much do I have to pay to IRS

I sold about 20k on ebay during 2022 and after paying ebay fees, USPS shipping fees, item cost, gas, etc... I ended up making 2k profit . IRS sent me an offer letter with a Proposed amount due for 5.5k

How come they want me to pay 5.5k on something I earned 2k.... please help...

Message 1 of 44
latest reply
43 REPLIES 43

Re: 2022 - 20k Sales reported how much do I have to pay to IRS

@wayuuki wrote:

I filled out 2022 taxes so early without knowing ebay will generate a 1099 on 2022. My accountant said to me to wait until this year for IRS amendment and recently received this letter ( off course they are charging $ 304 Interest ) , but how come they came up with 5.5k proposed amount on a 2.2k net earnings ?

Im not an expert with this tax issues...

That advice was so terrible, IMHO when you file your amended return you should use a different accountant.  You should have filed a revised return immediately when you got the 1099-K for 2022. Now you are paying interest and probably penalties.  

As others have noted, the IRS is asking for $5.5K because of not only interest and probably penalties, but also because they have no way of knowing about your deductible expenses which were not reported (eBay fees, shipping costs, cost of goods, etc.) so they are basing the income tax and also the self-employment tax on the full $20K. Take a look at IRS Schedule C, the Schedule C instructions, and Schedule SE to get an idea of how they look at this.

File the amended 2022 return ASAP to avoid further interest and penalties. And maybe you need to revise 2023 also? 

One last small detail: In your original post, you mentioned gas as a deductible expense, but the deductible expense that you actually will figure is mileage.

Message 31 of 44
latest reply

@wayuuki wrote: