cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buyer made offer and I accepted, then they told me to cancel?

I had a buyer make an offer that I accepted. The next day he sent a one word message just saying “cancel”. I responded asking him to verify he no longer wanted the item. He responded with “I didn’t see it didn’t have the tags”. It’s in the first line of my description that it did not have them. My question is, I’m new to selling and not sure what the best course of action is. This seems like something we could have avoided but not sure how to process this? Any suggestions are welcome.

Logan22
Message 1 of 20
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

The buyer asked you to cancel, the best course was as soon as you got that message, to simply cancel, using "buyer request". 

No need to verify anything.  People don't always read, they change their mind, the moon is in the wrong phase, their dog barfed in their shoes - doesn't matter.  The easiest course is to simply cancel for them, making sure that you use 'buyer request' so you don't get dinged.  You will get your fees back and can immediately relist.

You obviously were clear in your listing, but somehow he missed it - be glad they let you know instead of going through a tedious returns process.  

This kind of thing happens.

“The most common way people give up their power is by thinking they don’t have any.”
— Alice Walker

#freedomtoread
#readbannedbooks

View Best Answer in original post

Message 2 of 20
latest reply
19 REPLIES 19

The buyer asked you to cancel, the best course was as soon as you got that message, to simply cancel, using "buyer request".