cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Image Viewing Experience on eBay

Hi all,

My name is Alex, I am a manager of the iOS/Android application at eBay. I specifically work on the Item Viewing experience -- think  the page you land on when you see the title, price, photos, description, etc.

We recently started testing a new experience, where we display image thumbnails below the main photo. We know how much our buyers love seeing all images, and we thought this would be a great way to engage with all photos. 

I wanted to make this post to see if any of you all are seeing this experience in the app ( you might need to download the latest update ) and have any thoughts/feedback? 

Last year, we have tried several different things to improve the experience (making images taller, adding the photo counter, a new gallery view, etc.) and are really excited to hear how you all feel about this new experience!

new_image.png

Message 1 of 11
latest reply
10 REPLIES 10

Hi alex_buyerteam@ebay , thanks for posting about this.

Easier access to the pictures can only be a good thing, but, I don't see any way to access the description in either of your screenshots, and that is even more important.

Encouraging buyers to read the description is the single most important thing that you should be doing with the apps. Bar nothing. The link to the description should be visible and prominent on the first screen, without any scrolling whatsoever.

This is what your team should be working on, and in all honesty, nothing else will have a significant effect until buyers are encouraged (or even better, required) to read the description before they can purchase something on eBay.

Message 2 of 11
latest reply

"... I specifically work on the Item Viewing experience..."