cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is my barn rescue worth anything? W.F. Whitney Victorian style child's rocker.

Hi!  I was at an estate sale over the weekend and dug this chair out of a very old barn in Upstate NY.  The chair has a sticker on it indicating it is a W.F Whitney from Ashburnham Massachusetts.    There are a lot of other measurement markers on the underside.  It is a child's size rocker.  I am wondering if this is something I let my daughter play with or does it have some value?  I can't find another one like it and it looks like this might date back as early as 1862 or a bit later?  Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks!

Message 1 of 7
latest reply
6 REPLIES 6

Here is the picture of lable and pencil marks.

Message 2 of 7
latest reply

I'm not a wicker expert. . and this board is poorly trafficked. . . but I have collected Victoriana for my entire lifetime.

I will give you a caveat that this 'would' have been valuable. . it's a very nice wickerChild's rocker. . but from the pics, the condition has suffered.  There are multiple pieces of decorative wicker missing from the back, and the seat doesn't look original. . . Looks to me to date 1890s or so.

I guess it depends on what you paid!  If this were restored and/or in better shape, likely has value . . in this condition, if you didn't pay alot, I  might just use it for the kids.

Hope that helped,

Laura

Message 3 of 7
latest reply

That's adorable.  I would find a way to fill the back area with wicker that makes it look reasonably the same and then

I would paint the rocker and distress the paint in certain areas where the wear makes sense, and then I'd rub in Orange

Oil into the paint to give it a very slight antique look to the finish.  I'd then either make or buy a light floral print seat cushion for the seat.  I think this would bring your rocker back to life and even if you then sold it on eBay...I think there's still a market for shabby-you-