cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1839 P Capped Bust. Look Kosher?

Just bought from a dealer I don't know, and I'm a relative newbie anyway. Does it look kosher? Noting the scratch on reverse, still seemed a little cheap at $39. Any opinions?

IMG_0554.JPGIMG_0558.JPG

Message 1 of 11
latest reply
10 REPLIES 10

Hi, @nanapong1.

You bought that on eBay?

That coin doesn't 'look right' to me. Collectors can't explain it, but there is just a look to some coins that makes them look 'fake.' It could be cleaned, and I could be wrong though.

I'd take it out of the flip and weigh it first. It should weigh exactly 13.36 grams. If it weighs more or less, it is not real.

Next, consider the price...The 2016 Red Book says that this coin in G-4 condition is worth $65.

Looking at the pics you provided, that looks like it could be a solid AU, valued at $425, according to the 2016 Red Book.

If you bought it on eBay, was is a BIN or auction? If it was  BIN, I would be VERY suspicous.

You can also take it down to a local dealer and have them check it out or send it in to PCGS or NGC to have it graded if it is worth that much.

Hope this helps a little.

Good luck!

https://bio.link/langs
Message 2 of 11
latest reply

Not ebay, another site (Bo***za). Another strange thing, I ordered an 1839 Seated Liberty and got this.

Message 3 of 11
latest reply

@nanapong1wrote:

Not ebay, another site (Bo***za). Another strange thing, I ordered an 1839 Seated Liberty and got this.

It was probably a scam then, especially since they sent the wrong one. Did it come from China or another foreign country?

Message 4 of 11
latest reply

No, not directly anyway. I think it was Minnesota.

Message 5 of 11
latest reply