cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it safe to sell & ship overseas?

I am relatively new to Selling, and just had an item that was sold (Buy It Now) to someone in Russia even though I had "ship to the United States" on the listing. This Buyer's address was in the cyrillic alphabet, and was requesting an invoice for the item. I phoned Ebay and they helped me cancel the sale, but I've been thinking about it, and wondering if it really is safe to sell items allover the world, what are the potential risks, how would I protect myself as a Seller, is it worth the extra trouble and what are the special handling needs required?

If anyone has any experience (good and/or bad) with this matter, please feel free to respond. Thanks.

Message 1 of 32
latest reply
31 REPLIES 31

Personally I've never had a bad experience. All my auctions say United States only. However, I'll have international bidders ask me if I would ship my item to their country. I check out the number of purchases they have made in the past, feedback, etc. and if I get good vibes :), I'll go to www.usps.com to figure out the shipping costs. Then email them the amt. I'll be charging to ship. Usually that separates the men from the boys, so to speak.  If the item has any weight to it, it can get pretty pricey to ship internationally. There are one of two forms to choose from at the post office . . . . my post office has them out on a table to pick up when shipping overseas. The smaller one is for smaller packages and the larger one for larger packages. If I remember correctly, the larger one is for over 4 lbs.