cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Return Policy

My wife and I have been doing our ebay store for several years now and sometimes, we receive something about item being defective and for the most part, we have not asked for item back in spite of listing stating Buyer will pay for return shipping.

A week ago I sent an incorrect memory card to a buyer and they notified me and it was true.  I said to the buyer that I would send the correct one immediately and inside of the envelope I put another envelope with postage and addressed to me in return.  The applicant today stated that the other item was sent back to me and I will have to trust individual on that one.  Today I received word that item did not work for another item that we sold to buyer for a lot of money.  The applicant had paid for part of the shipping and we paid the remainder.  Due to the size of the box and I did not want to receive negative feedback, I just put their money back to buyer and left item where I had sent it.  There was some items that were brand new but if I wanted the buyer to send it all back, they would have paid more than what we sold it for and so I did not think buyer would do that.

I need to change my policy about how I handle these situations though.  My Dad, who has sold a lot of items on eBay in the past did enforce the practice of asking person to send back the items.  He did other practices of marking invisible ink on items sold and looking at items under black light to see if they are his items.  I have not gone that far in my listings but he has used that in order to verify that items are the original items tthat he did sell.