cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inaccurate first class shipping calculation

I've been selling since 1996 and recently, the calculation for shipping has been off, with the buyer paying too little.

I just sold something first class with a calculation of 13 ounces and 12x9x1 inches for the package. So based on their zip code (eastern NY) they were charged $3.56. But when the screen came up to mail it, the cost is $5.53.

This has happened a few times now. Again, I've filled everything in so there is nothing for me to change on this screen.

So what's happened with the calculations?

Screen Shot 2022-06-24 at 2.17.41 PM.pngScreen Shot 2022-06-24 at 2.18.56 PM.png

Message 1 of 15
latest reply
14 REPLIES 14

You charged your buyer for a 13-ounce First Class flat (AKA Large envelope) but eBay only sells postage for packages. If your item really was one inch thick, then you should have set up the listing to charge for a package, not for a Large envleope.

Message 2 of 15
latest reply

I use a shipping rule. Other than eBay's new standard envelope option, there is only one other 1st class option which is for packages. It's the same rule I use for all my 1st class auctions. The envelopes are either 6x9x1 or 9x12x1.Screen Shot 2022-06-24 at 2.57.22 PM.png

This particular auction failed in calculating. 

Message 3 of 15
latest reply

Hey @nydepot if you want to ship with USPS Flat service or some postage stamps and the package qualifies for that service based on dimensions and other factors, you certainly can, but eBay does not offer shipping labels for any untracked services. You would need to purchase that postage elsewhere.

If you want to charge buyers for a tracked package so you can purchase a tracked label through eBay, then make sure you choose Package from the package type selection on the listing form.

packagetype.png

GLORIOUS!