cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

eBay sides with buyer despite ad images showing scratches on camera...what do I do next?

So I've been selling things off and on for the past 15 years (maybe 4-5 items/year tops), and I finally had a buyer want to return the item for the first time ever recently. 

For this item (a camera), I specifically listed is as scuffed and made sure to display a photograph of the top LCD showing the worst scuffs/scratches. 

A few days after receiving the camera the buyer sent me a photo of the scratches around the top LCD (the same ones I made absolutely certain were visible in the ad photos!), complaining that she never would have bought the camera if she'd known those were there and initiated a return as not matching the description.

I responded by pointing out the image in the original ad that showed those scratches, disclosed other scratches, and indicated that I wasn't open to a return. She then responded with "Hi, my apologies. I did not see the close up photos. Otherwise, I would not have bothered you."

I figured I had a preponderance of evidence on my side, so I went online this weekend and escalated the case and asked for eBay to return my funds and deny the refund.

Well, turns out eBay doesn't care if the item is properly described and the buyer changes their mind, as eBay sided with the buyer! Do I have any recourse? What do I do if they buyer opts to keep the camera and I never receive the item back? At this point, I'm more frustrated that eBay apparently doesn't care about small time sellers than anything else, and I'd hate to be out $450 AND the camera.

Message 1 of 8
latest reply
7 REPLIES 7

eBay sides with buyer despite ad images showing scratches on camera...what do I do next?