cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I Charge a Handling Fee?

Greetings, 

I am new to selling on eBay. I was wondering are eBay sellers charging a handling fee for the products that they are selling. If so how do I include a handling fee with products that I sell? 

What are other sellers doing concerning handling fees? Charging a handling fee or not charging a handling fee. I was thinking of something like $1.50 Handling fee. Shall I do this or not?

Message 1 of 34
latest reply
33 REPLIES 33

Include it in your shipping cost
Message 2 of 34
latest reply

No, if this is not understood, a new buyer (and/or crotchety one) may ding you for overcharging for shipping.

The easiest way to to overcome this is to include it in the price of your item (i.e. higher starting bid or higher buy it now price). This will simplify things whether you use calculated shipping or free shipping, it will not matter.

Some buyers will reverse calculate the actual cost to make sure. One poster mentioned a buyer that gave a negative for overcharging shipping by $0.01.

So, better to include it in the price of the item so it won't be questioned...

Message 3 of 34
latest reply

You are better off just working it into your price. Some buyers can be jerks about handling fees.

Message 4 of 34
latest reply

@thirdeye_electronics wrote:

Greetings, 

I am new to selling on eBay. I was wondering are eBay sellers charging a handling fee for the products that they are selling. If so how do I include a handling fee with products that I sell? 

What are other sellers doing concerning handling fees? Charging a handling fee or not charging a handling fee. I was thinking of something like $1.50 Handling fee. Shall I do this or not?

If buyer is paying shipping I add a $0.50 handling fee to help cover the 10% FVF and supplies.

Happy Easter
Message 5 of 34
latest reply

I include a handling charge in my free shipping.

Message 6 of 34
latest reply