cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buyer claims item damaged over 90 days after transaction

I am fairly new to selling on eBay, and so far I've had a very positive experience. Unfortunately, this morning I received a message I believe is related to a scam from a buyer. More than 90 days ago (I am uncertain of specific date as I can no longer view the listing because it is past that time frame) I sold an action figure to someone in Hungary (I did not intend to offer international shipping, and after this sale I changed my settings to ensure I no longer sold outside of the U.S.). Despite shipping the item more than three months ago, I just this morning received a message claiming it had arrived broken.

It seems ridiculous to me that the buyer would just now attempt to claim it had arrived broken. Is there a limit on how long someone can complain regarding the item's condition upon arrival? The item was in near perfect condition when shipped, and while I certainly believe it is possible it could have been damaged en route, it seems unrealistic that they would just now be receiving the item and noticing it is broken. I am uncertain how to proceed.

Message 1 of 13
latest reply
12 REPLIES 12

The buyer cannot open a damage claim through eBay after 30 days have passed.  You can tell the buyer you are no longer responsible for damage.  He cannot leave you feedback either, after 60 days. 

That said, a buyer can open a claim through Paypal for 180 days.  They would be required to return the item at their own expense.  When you receive it, you would have to refund all of the original payment including shipping cost. 

----------------------------
Successful and experienced seller since 1997, over 70,000 feedback, boardie since the boards were begun.
Message 2 of 13
latest reply

BBL and ignore forever.

Message 3 of 13
latest reply

Buyer is in Hungary.