cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Less Than Impressed

I just started selling a few things on ebay about a month ago, and fortunately, I was able to make a few sales without any hiccups, but after reading ebay's official stance on certain things, I decided it just isn't for me.  I went ahead and ended my remaining listings and I'll go back to selling at other venues regardless of how much exposure I may potentially lose out on.  I strive to be an honest seller that stands behind what I sell, but if dishonest buyers are allowed to run amok, then I can't stick around and keep playing Russian roulette.

What I'm referring to specifically is false SNAD claims.  I have no first hand experience with such an encounter, but like I said, after reading how ebay has handled some of these cases in the past, I don't have enough confidence in them to make a fair decision if I ever did find myself in that position.  I get the impression that ebay sees all sellers as an employee of their big retail store and expects all sellers to bend over backwards for the buyers like a big retail store typically does.  I'm not running a business, but I'll still go with the saying that "that's not my business model".  If a buyer is in the wrong, I'm going to call them out on it and I'd expect ebay to fairly judge the situation and have my back if they also see that the buyer is in the wrong.  If ebay wants to come out of their own poclet to please dishonest buyers, that's their business, but what I'm seeing is that even if a buyer is CLEARLY in the wrong, ebay still will encourage the seller to take the loss and if they refuse to, then the seller will be slapped with infractions (that may or may not be removed depending on how much time a person is willing to waste on the phone).  Not my cup o' tea, sorry.