cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Legit or scam offer?

I am new to eBay and have 1 item listed for $230. I know I am a target for scammers being a new account with a higher ticket item. I have had my listing up for a few weeks with no offers and I just received my first one this morning for $300. I know it is a red flag since it is more than the listing price. I went to the buyers profile and there are real listing and reviews. Do we think this is legit? I have not accepted the offer yet and the buyer has not asked for any info (PayPal email, address change, etc.) Should I go ahead and accept and see if the buyer asks those questions or just decline the offer? Thanks in advance for any guidance.

Message 1 of 34
latest reply
33 REPLIES 33

Legit or scam offer?

I know it is a red flag since it is more than the listing price. 

--------------------------------------------------------------------

If you're talking about Darth Vader, the offer is more than the starting bid, not listing price.

It might be legit, I have offered more than the starting bid when I don't want to wait until the auction ends..

Message 2 of 34
latest reply

Legit or scam offer?

azh-71
Thrill-Seeker

That thing is $299 + S/H/T on Amazon right now, which makes me think it's a scam.  

Message 3 of 34
latest reply

Legit or scam offer?

If you are worried, why do you even list in this format? Do buy it now with immediate payment required at a price you would be happy with.

Auction with a best offer is probably the worst format imo. 

Could be the person just doesn't want to deal with auctions and wants to "cut to the chase" and give you their best price.

he/him/guy/dude...you get the picture
Message 4 of 34
latest reply

Legit or scam offer?

Not everyone is smart enough to shop around.

OP- in the offer, what info can you see about your potential Buyer on their FB page?