cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HOW TO PREVENT CHARGEBACKS! I HATE EBAY

IVE BEEN SELLING ON EBAY FOR 19 YEARS MADE A TON OF $$. RECENTLY DUE TO THEM NOT USING PAYPAL IVE HAD BUYERS DO A CHARGEBACK THROUGH THEIR BANK AND EBAY WONT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT, THEY SAID ITS BETWEEN ME AND THE BUYERS BANK, THATS BULL**bleep**. THIS WASN'T POSSIBLE WHEN USING PAYPAL. AND NOW IM OUT THE ITEM AND THE MONEY. ITS BULL**bleep**, NOT TO MENTION THEIR FEES ARE RIDICULOUS NOW. CAN YOU ONLY ALLOW PAYPAL AS FORM OF PAYMENT? I DONT SEE WHERE ITS A OPTION. IM LIKE A 10/10 HATE EBAY BUT THERES NO WHERE ELSE TO SELL YOUR STUFF. (I MAINLY SELL DAMAGED AUTOMOTIVE HEADLIGHTS THAT I GET NEXT TO NOTHING SO THE PLATFORM REALLY WORKS WELL FOR WHAT I DO) until now

Message 1 of 63
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

I agree as a seller that has accepted credit card payments either via merchant account (pre eBay days), PayPal, or managed payments I’ve always had to deal with the occasional chargeback. 

As I’ve said many times on these boards whether it was when I was accepting credit card payments via merchant account, PayPal, or managed payments it is very difficult for sellers to win a chargeback case due to the banks and credit card networks wanting to protect the consumer.

Hence, I now Have instituted a policy of free returns. Since I’ve started this policy. I’ve not had a chargeback request. I’d rather take an occasional return and the associated costs of paying for return shipping than having to refund buyer, not getting items back, and paying the $20.00 fee. Also, when a seller has a no returns policy many buyers will file false INAD cases which results in a ding to a sellers service metrics.

View Best Answer in original post

Message 19 of 63
latest reply
62 REPLIES 62