cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buyer received empty package!

I sold a sweatshirt a few days ago. The item was placed into a clear poly bag and shipped in another regular poly mailer. Today the buyer messaged me and said that she received an empty package and sent 3 photos of both the clear bag and the poly mailer empty with the poly mailer torn on the back. I've been reselling for 10 years and never had this happen before. How do I handle this one?

Message 1 of 39
latest reply
38 REPLIES 38

You give them a refund and if you shipped it via Priority you file a claim with USPS ($50 or $100 insurance is included). When you refund advise the buyer to retain the packaging and expect possible contact from USPS.

The easy way is to have them open an eBay claim (if they haven't already).

If you shipped First Class then forget the part about filing with USPS.

Message 2 of 39
latest reply

The post office marks when packaging is damaged and contents appear missing. Not sure to what extent they look or try to look inside.

Did buyer mention anything like that?

Message 3 of 39
latest reply

Yup, send these examples to your buyer:

https://community.ebay.com/t5/image/serverpage/image-id/481939i599E4DD2DD9694E0/image-size/large?v=1.0&px=999

https://scontent-frt3-1.cdninstagram.com/vp/0dffed40173c73991badee0be3b2ad8e/5E029648/t51.2885-15/e35/p1080x1080/49761596_343601659826599_2443254974090305370_n.jpg?_nc_ht=scontent-frt3-1.cdninstagram.com

and ask for another photo showing the sticker that the post office stuck on the torn poly mailer.

Message 4 of 39
latest reply