cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bill Ellsworth Retired Navy Pilot Original Etchings Help

island_moon
Enthusiast
I was wondering if anyone know's anything about this self taught artist Bill Ellsworth. I have a few of his original etchings but can't seem to find out very much about him & if his art work was or is popular. They are signed & numbered & most have a written caption under the subject matter. Most are Naval & some are Military bar scenes.. Hre is an example of his work. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Sorry for the double post
Message 1 of 25
latest reply
24 REPLIES 24

Just an observation, the prints were done in small numbers like 15 or 18 only. That leads me to believe he was doing them to give away to friends and not sell them. I know nothing about art but I'd have to guess there's not enough of his art to make a real market that you could judge anything from.

I wonder of the Navy Art Museum in Washington DC has copies, you should ask them. They are in the Washington Navy Yard.
*************** What follows is sig line*************
I collect fine cannon models, full-size antique cannons and artillery accouterments.
Message 2 of 25
latest reply

island_moon
Enthusiast
thanks for the reply. I guess my real concern is, does anyone think that there may be a market for his etchings? He was a retired navy pilot & was in WWW II, Korea, & Vietnam. He was a self taught artist. I put one on ebay to see if I could get any response...I am hoping that maybe someone could lead me in the right direction to collectors of Military art. thanks
Message 3 of 25
latest reply

Military aviation is a big collector area, with lots of people looking to build collections. I'm guessing the prints will sell but don't have a clue how much they'll bring.
*************** What follows is sig line*************
I collect fine cannon models, full-size antique cannons and artillery accouterments.
Message 4 of 25
latest reply