cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EBay Exposes Buyer EMail Address To Sellers.

This happened to me before, but this is my first time making it public.

I called about it before and was told ebay does NOT give the email address to the sellers.

I would beg to differ, which you'll see why below...

I did a search for "ebay seller has my email address" from a search engine and saw a bunch of links to these forums about the issue, but they were dated back to like 2014-15, but also 2018.

Early threads mention that buyers and sellers were able to see each other's information back then (https://community.ebay.com/t5/Archive-Bidding-Buying/How-did-seller-get-my-email-address-after-I-bid...).

But that doesn't seem to be the case anymore. Rather all digital comms go through ebay's messaging system.

I saw the section "Completing a purchase outside of eBay" under https://www.ebay.com/help/buying/resolving-issues-sellers/contacting-seller?id=4021

But that's really not applicable since I already made my purchase through ebay and now they are sent me an email directly (not through ebay).

I'm also thinking https://www.ebay.com/help/policies/payment-policies/offers-buy-sell-outside-ebay-policy?id=4272 isn't applicable either.

Links in the email relate to "diymore <dot> cc" and "soundestlink <dot> com" (just to expose them).

There is ZERO chance I'm going to actually click on any of those links, even the unsubscribe one.

Here's the kicker though, I tailor my email addresses (yes, plural) for this very reason, to isolate the leakers.

In other words, it was my address used solely for ebay and not paypal, so it's not like they got the address from somewhere else.

That is the basis I'm going by with saying EBay exposes user's email addresses.

Message 1 of 15
latest reply
14 REPLIES 14

@nrye1,