cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Did I get scammed ? And will Ebay Moneyback Guarantee Protect Me?

Hello All, 

I've been buying and selling on ebay for many years now and have never been or felt scammed until this week. I've been looking at buying GPU's to help set up a VR program for the elementary school that I work at and since they are sold out everywhere due to the bitcoin mining craze. I decided to look into ebay. 

Well I found two listings from the same seller listing the graphics cards that would be perfect at a decent price based on the crazy demand for the cards. I quickly purchase and pay for them only to discover in the next morning that in the description it has hidden between the lines that nothign will be shipped and that the purpose of the listing is to provide education on the price of the graphics card.

The seller yesterday also shipped the two "items" under first class certified mail, which I know are not the graphics cards since there is no way they would fit withing the restrictions for certified mail. 

What is the best approach to go at this at this point from those with more experience in this matter? Did I get scammed or did I just get taught a very expensive lesson?

-Johnny 

Message 1 of 15
latest reply
14 REPLIES 14

Wow..

When you get the certified letters..file a SNAD..do as instructed..you'll get your money back..

So much wrong with that listing...yikes...

Message 2 of 15
latest reply

Did you read his feedback before making this purchase? Terrible..

Message 3 of 15
latest reply

@Anonymous

tyler@ebay

brian@ebay

We talked about these disclaimers not too long ago.

Forget keeping up with the Joneses. Be the Finklegrubers!
OK kids, time to get the Dodge loaded up again. I hear 'Poppy's By the Tree' calling. This trip might be a long one too.
Message 4 of 15
latest reply