cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can Anyone Confirm the Material These Buttons are Made of?

IMG_0691.JPG

Message 1 of 12
latest reply
11 REPLIES 11

They smell when you rub them 

Message 2 of 12
latest reply

kevghas123
Adventurer
What do the back of the buttons look like?
RKev479
Message 3 of 12
latest reply

Tried to post a second photo with backs - wasn't able to.  Gonna try again. 

Message 4 of 12
latest reply

I believe your buttons are a type of plastic- they appear to have some crazing in them which diminishes their value. They probably would have been from the 40s or 50s- educated guess.  

RKev479
Message 5 of 12
latest reply

I am new to buttons, I have no idea. I wish I could help you.

Message 6 of 12
latest reply

Thanks for your reply..  Yes, everything suggests they are casein; hot needle test, carving, etc.  But I had not seen any of this coloring and hand carved, although I guess there are such - so my hope for a confirmation on that by those more knowledgeable than me. 

Message 7 of 12
latest reply

I wish you could too Smiley Happy  Buttons can be a fascinating hobby, but can be frustrating too.  Sorting buttons was about the only thing I could do for hours and not get bored to death.

Collectors seem to be very competitive.  I had joined a few groups and the National Button Society in hopes of learning more about my new hobby.  But there was so much bickering, etc. I left and sort of lost interest. I sure hope you have a different experience and continue to enjoy your hobby. 

Message 8 of 12
latest reply

Sorry to hear you had such a bad experience! I belong to the National Button Society and have known a lot of local button collectors and find the majority of them more than willing to help and share information with other like minded collectors! I show would be collectors different types of buttons and how to care for them whenever asked 🙂

RKev479
Message 9 of 12
latest reply