cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Not sure if some beads of the necklace are Lapis gemstones?

Hi, I need help to identify the blue stone beads in the necklace of the attached photo? They don't seem to be resin or any type of plastic, also I tested the color with an acetone Q-tip but the Q-tip didn't pick any color. I think they might be Lapis Lazuli but I'm not sure? Some Beads seem to have shiny dots, which I assume, are pyrites but some doesn't have any shiny particles, it is quite confusing, I’d like to sell this necklace but wanted to be sure of the info before listing? Thanks

Message 1 of 8
latest reply
7 REPLIES 7

Hello I am not an expert but I do not think they are LapisLazuli. The colors are to uniform Lapis I have seen and have is swirled and different tones of blue. Sorry can't help more that that.

photo c0aee6c4-b992-4827-ae05-e33ad59c80ce_zpscc7c71c6.jpg
Message 2 of 8
latest reply

These beads do not look like lapis lazuli to me. Could you post a few more photos so we can have a better idea of the patterning? If you have a scanner bed, that works nicely. Just stick a white hanky over them during the scan and you'll get a more descriptive image.

Message 3 of 8
latest reply

Hi there!! I can tell you that is the blue stone appears to have gold flakes in them then yes, they are Lapis. Not all the beads have to have them just most. Also it's hard to tell from your picture but it reminds me of Blue Malachite. I can see some swirling in the beads. I hope this helps.

JessiesJewelryBox

Message 4 of 8
latest reply

Without being able to examine all of them closely and fully, just having gold flecks in them does not conclusively mean they are lapis because other stones such as blue goldstone also have such flecks. Lower grade lapis actually may have more white flecks and streaks.