Need to restore deleted listings, not inactive, deleted listings HELP
Summary: kingsriverboy inquired about restoring accidentally deleted eBay listings, expressing frustration over the removal of a previously available recovery feature. duffy4444 and mam98031 responded that once listings are deleted, they cannot be recovered, advising instead to end listings to retain them for future use. 44012 shared a similar experience, noting that some listings can occasionally be found via internet search, but cautioned it is a lesson that requires meticulous management. Others suggested alternatives like using backup applications, but the consensus was that deleted listings are generally irretrievable.
Please ebay gods or magicians tell me you have restored a way for sellers to save accidentally deleted listings? Thank you.
onlinecentral
·2 weeks agoMaybe you can find some useful suggestions in this discussion started by kingsriverboy on Jan 19, 2026.
How to restore accidently deleted listings?
https://community.ebay.com/forum/selling-57920/topic/how-to-restore-accidently-deleted-listings-157285/
dhbookds
·2 weeks agoI know NOTHING about it...or how to use it.......but would one of those "go back in time" applications work?
44012
·2 weeks agoOnce I accidentally deleted about 200 inactive items. I didn't realize the top box was clicked in the column, I thought I only had a few items checked off, not the whole page.
I was able to recover some as @mam98031 said you can do an internet search. I found some of the listings on google that had not been actually deleted and managed to cut and paste a few of those listings before they disappeared. I chose the highest price items as I thought I wouldn't have enough time to recover all 200.
It was a lesson I learned well and since then it has never happened again. I only found the items at inventory time which was at the end of December and had to be processed again.
mam98031
·2 weeks agoDelete means it gets deleted/completely removed/vanish. When you go to Delete something, a message comes on screen to ask you if you are sure you want to actually delete the item. You have to answer yes for it to happen. So it is hard to accidentally do this.
Now you can close listings by just zeroing the qty and the listing remains available for you to revise and relist for up to 90 days. Or if you have the OOS setting in your Site preferences, the listing will be available to you for up to 6 months.
kingsriverboy
OP2 weeks agoDelete rarely means deleted. I would wager significant numbers of my neighbors beanie babies the data is in this system. Removing an option/method to recover is a different thing entirely. And yes I know which is why I specified help with deleted, not inactive. Thanks though.
mam98031
·2 weeks agoSorry, but it is exactly the opposite. Delete does mean delete and that is exactly why Ebay puts a note on the screen when someone requests to delete something asking them to CONFIRM they actually want to DELETE the item. You have to click YES for it to happen.
They are gone and you can't get them back from the Ebay site. You may be able to do an internet search and find them so you can copy them, but you won't find them on Ebay any longer as they have gone POOF.
I know you don't want this to be true as it is going to cause you more work, but this is the reality of the situation. Sorry! I wish you well.
kingsriverboy
OP2 weeks agoI think you misunderstand me. These things remain in a database at least for a good amount of time. Data is profit. Not having access for recovery is the problem, a choice made by the platform. I mean you at least half agree if you think there is a way to google some of that data. How does one search goog specifically for 200 items lost at once, specific listings names I do not know? It's the choice not offering recovery.... I pay rent for up to 10k listings and have around 4200, which was 4400 this morning. People are going to make moves, edits on a larger scale and make mistakes. There should be allowances for mishandling a couple hundred rather than losing them all in a momentary lapse. But I hear you clearly as well. No dice. And I shall move on with 200 listings in inventory but not listed, whatever they are. Thanks
mam98031
·2 weeks agoI have been a member of Ebay for a very long time. While other sites may do things differently, I can only tell you what is a FACT here on this site. Something you actually DELETE is gone. Simply non recoverable, which is why they send up a flag on your screen when you are doing this so you VERIFY this is what you want to do. Further, when listings are inactive Ebay retains them for 90 days period. After that they too are gone unless you use the OOS setting in Site preferences, then they will be there for up to 6 months.
Yes, you are correct, this is a "choice made by the platform". Ebay is a very large site with Billions and Billions and Billions of ACTIVE listing, imagine how many inactive listings there are. That all takes up space and it is just too much to ask that Ebay keep this stuff forever. The space needed is just too much.
OMG don't be silly. No one said or even implied you could search for your 200 deleted listings at one time. Please be realistic. You would have to search for them one by one on Google and keep your fingers crossed you'd find them. And the sooner you do that the better chances you have to fine at least some of them.
You do NOT "pay rent" for up to 10K listings, you have ACCESS to listing up to 10K listings with no listing fee, the two are NOT the same.
"People are going to make moves, edits on a larger scale and make mistakes." Absolutely, we are all mere humans after all. But this is a big reason that Ebay asks you to VERIFY that you really want to delete something. I know you want to make this about some kind of failure of Ebay when it is simply human error on your part. We all make mistakes, they usually don't define us, but how we work out of them does. You just need to own this problem and develop the best plan for you to recover from it.
If you choose not to list more items than your 200, that is a decision for you to make alone. If you have more things to sell but choose not to list them because you are mad at Ebay, that is your own thing. Ebay has done NOTHING wrong.
kingsriverboy
OP2 weeks agoI am not choosing, nor was I thinking to not list anything. I'm agonizing at the loss of 200 listings. Due to no recovery 200 lost listings which I have no clue what they are mixed in my inventory here since I listed them, but now not actually for sale... probably for a long time since stored with thousands of inventoried listed items.
The data must be somewhere. I've conversed with more than a few old timers who have recovered before. Used to be able to do so themselves or had to call and plead. Those deleted listings are still in the sold/no longer available category one sees when researching for what, 90 days? Must be searchable within the whole database many many ways.
reallynicestamps
·2 weeks agoA few minutes ago? Try backbuttoning on your desktop computer until you get to the page before you deleted.
If you are on a phone or a desktop, or if this was more than ten page changes ago, this is unlikely to work.
kingsriverboy
OP2 weeks agoThanks, was on my computer and the backbutton didn't work.
reallynicestamps
·2 weeks agoAh well, worth a try.
kingsriverboy
OP2 weeks agoConsidering this was long an option, dare I say, a feature available then removed. And undoubtedly sellers thus ebay losses tremendous amounts of inventory, sellers also huge amount of time, uncertainty, since knowing what was even trashed is impossible to recover, relist. I'm just flabbergasted at deliberate impossibility on this being a better choice here.
lakefor94
·2 weeks ago@kingsriverboy I don't recall ebay ever doing "restores" from back-ups on seller's listings.
toomuchstuffagain35
·2 weeks agoUp until a few years ago you were able to recover deleted listings, then ebay removed the function.
lakefor94
·2 weeks agoCool deal. Just don't ever recall hearing that on the forum over the years.
duffy4444
·2 weeks ago · EditedNope... Ain't gonna happen. As I understand it, deleted is just that - DELETED and GONE.
If you want a listing available for the future, simply END the listing and it will be available to relist for I think 90 days. Somebody correct me if I'm wrong.
I never delete a listing;... I only end it for future use as a template.
Cheers, Duffy