I got scammed by eBay on a promoted listing that I didn’t sign up for. They took over $86 in fees
I disputed the charge and it was rejected. I have been buying and selling for over 19 years and decided I’m done with eBay. There are plenty of other ways to buy and sell now days. Shame on me for being scammed, but shame on eBay for not taking care of there customers!!
9 comments
stephanietbird
·2 years agoCall them.
ckimodog
·2 years ago@stephanietbird
There is no number for eBay for the OP to call them. They need to go to help & contact at the top of the page. This thread is also 8 months & the OP doesn't appear to be selling any more.
kh-laura
·2 years agoHi everyone,
Due to the age of this thread, it has been closed to further replies. Please feel free to start a new thread if you wish to continue to discuss this topic.
Thank you for understanding.
12345jamesstamps
·3 years agoYou clicked on a button for the item(s) to be promoted. It's not automatic. I have some that are still promoted and I took some off of being promoted. It's possible you didn't pay attention when you listed it. Even if you took it off of being promoted you will still get charged for it being promoted for 30 days.
monica-sells
·3 years agoI realize it is after the fact, but Promoted Listings is a choice.
It is not even "On" by default when you create a new listing (ebay is notorious for having add-ons by default), you need to activate it by sliding the button on and choosing a percentage...
Did it help make the sale? who knows? But it was promoted and you agreed to pay for it.
Sorry you missed it.
Unavailable member
·3 years agoIf you used Promoted listings at ANY time your item was on sale and a buyer clicked on the listing you will be charged the PL rate when the item sells even if you canceled the Promotion before the item sold.
If I am incorrect someone will chime in to correct me.
m60driver
·3 years agoI think there is a time limit as to how long that PL lingers, but I can't remember the exact details. But instead of editing a listing to remove PL it is better to just end the listing and then relist using sell similar and not adding PL.
Unavailable member
·3 years ago@m60driver
It’s 30 days.
bonjourami
·3 years agoSorry, but its impossible to promote a listing without agreeing to it.