2 accounts
Somehow I created a second account about a month ago. I cannot get into my account I have used for 25 years. Can I close this new account and it won’t affect my old account?
5 comments
Somehow I created a second account about a month ago. I cannot get into my account I have used for 25 years. Can I close this new account and it won’t affect my old account?
jonathanbrightlight
·9 months agoThe account you’re posting this question with has been open since 2001, so 25 years as you stated. Do you have an additional new account, or did you change your username as others have suggested?
inhawaii
·9 months agoYou can "close" your new account by simply not using it.
Now to figure a way to access your old account...
rosachs
·9 months ago"Somehow created a second account"? And just now you cannot access your old account? If you close the new account and cannot access the old account, you'll have no account.
eBay allows one account per email address. An individual may have multiple accounts, all functional, so long as each has it's own email address and you follow the rules for multiple accounts: no using one account to 'buy' from another, items may only be listed on one account at a time (you cannot post the same item on two or more accounts at the same time), and you agree that eBay may, at their discretion, suspend/remove all account based on the activity or defects on any one account (if it's a minor thing, probably just a scolding on that one account - if it's a big dot deal, then they may suspend all accounts. If it's a chronic issue... well... they may close them all).
If it's a password issue on the old account, you should be able to reset it. Probably a bothersome process, but at least you can reset. There is no reason that creating a new account would de-activate your old account.
Did you perhaps simply -rename- your account? If that's the case, you cannot go back to the original name. Once an ID has been established, whether it's been used or not, it cannot be used by any one else. If you change the name on your account, you cannot go back to the old ID - it's considered used/closed and will not be re-opened.
This is based on my personal experiences, so things may have changed a bit over the past 30yrs.
-Bob.
slippinjimmy
·9 months ago@rosachs
When you change a user name it is frozen for 30 days (both old and new), after that time anyone can use it for a new or existing account or you can switch back to using it again.
https://www.ebay.com/help/account/changing-account-settings/changing-username?id=4198#section2
rosachs
·8 months ago