Watched items in custom lists get deleted when deleting from default watchlist.
Watched items in custom lists get deleted when deleting from default watchlist.
Steps to reproduce:
Add item to watchlist.
Go to watchlist and select item, then add to custom list. (Can do this to multiple lists if desired)
Item can now be seen in both the default and custom list(s).
Now if I delete the item from the default list, what should happen is it gets deleted from the default watchlist, but not my custom list. However, it is deleting from all lists.
19 comments
kh-stanley1
·1 year agoHi everyone,
Due to the age of this thread, it has been closed to further replies. Please feel free to start a new thread HERE if you wish to continue to discuss this topic.
Thank you for understanding.
dsmi53143
·1 year agoI have “somewhat†of a similar problem with deleted watchlist items. I was deleting a bunch of unwanted items from my default watchlist , and my hand slipped and I accidentally deleted ALL of my watchlist items (the “ Delete†and the “ Delete All†buttons are foolishly located practically right next to each other…which should not be the case unless there was a way to retrieve this info.)
I found out tonight that there is literally NO way to recover this (very important, necessary and time-consuming) information! BUT, Ebay does offer an easy and convenient way to recover any and all deleted messages, which aren’t NEARLY as important to ALL users/buyers as the Watchlist info/items are!
websight9999
·1 year agoI lost some items yesterday due to this problem. Did not know the problem existed until yesterday, because it used to work like I want it to work. Which means....they removed a perfectly good system and replaced it with an almost worthless one. I have 100-150 items in my default watchlist. Sure, I can copy them all to custom watchlists. But when I have done that, not only can I not delete them from my default watchlist....tell me what happens when I watch 10 more items. Yeah.....I have to hope I can remember all 10 of them so I can move them individually (after searching for them, mixed in with the other 150) to their appropriate watchlists. Quite tedious.
The ideal would be to--
a) be able to copy to custom & delete from default.
b. better yet, have a MOVE button to copy & remove.
c. additionally, when you click to watch an item, have it ask which of your lists to watch it from
But having emascalated an already good, working, bug-free system that allowed option "a", they will NEVER listen to people complaining about this issue. There will never be enough groundswell of complaining so that it even gets on their radar.
This is no different that another longstanding aggravation! Their search engine. Back in the day, you could put in a search for something, and you would get exactly what you searched for. Image that! Like this situation, it worked perfectly until they crippled it. I was just doing a search for Washington quarters. Once I searched, I limited it to year of 1932 and mint location of Denver. Specified only Uncirculated. While part of that searched worked, I got some listings (including to top one) with the wrong year and the wrong mint location. And a good chunk of they were clearly not uncirculated -- even stated in the description anywhere from VG to AU.
It totally flummoxes me as to WHY either of these things would be done. They are NOT likely to increase sales by doing these things. On the contrary, they exasperate people and drive many people away from their site altogether. It is BAD BUSINESS. It is as if they say, "Oh, this will make them happy. Better be sure to take it away or handicap it in some way." INSANITY!
dbusch12
·1 year agoThis still seems to be an on going issue. I just had the same thing happen to me as well. It is very frustrating when you spend so much time looking for items and then can lose them in one click of a mouse. It has been very helpful to me over the years simplifying what I see on my watchlist and being able to sort out different items into custom lists so they can be removed from the default watch list. I really hope something can be fixed with it so it doesn't keep happening.
ladyxl2
·2 years agoDoes anyone have any latest info about this procedure? This is still happening. Very frustrating and annoying. Any news on whether this default setting will be restored to the previous where you could remove a listing that had ended from the watchlist without it being removed from your custom lists.
That was a very useful feature to be able to refer back to what was listed previously.
arrrrpirates
OP2 years agoThis still needs to be added to bug tracking.
arrrrpirates
OP2 years agoThis is still an issue, and I do not see it listed on the known bugs list.
I have a workaround but it's super annoying to do. Here's how I'm sorting my items:
1) Go to eBay in a PC web browser. Add items to watchlist.
2) In the same browser, add items to your custom lists.
3) Navigate to another eBay page other than your watchlist.
4) Open the eBay app, navigate to your watchlist and delete the items.
5) Refresh the watchlist (swipe down) until you see the items have been deleted from the watchlist page.
6) Due to another bug, you can't see your custom watchlists in the eBay app when the default watchlist is empty. So now go back to a web browser on your PC to manage your custom lists.
the_liverpool_collection
·1 year agoYou made my life so much easier.
Its amazing to me that they let a problem like that to go on for so long.
Thank You!
s8u8z8y8
·1 year agoThis is the only method I see that actually works to get items off your main list and onto a separate list. It's terrifying the first couple of times as well as annoying, but it works!
2bunnies630
·2 years agoStill not resolved. It just wiped out 3 different lists after spending a couple hours searching for items.
moarlyfe
·2 years agoAnd Thank You, eburtonlab!
moarlyfe
·2 years agoThis just happened to me. 60+ listings now lost to the ether. Coding needs to fix this.
A few days ago, there was a Warning (Confirmation) prompt that appeared when deleting an item from a Custom List, asking if I wanted to delete the item from all Lists. It appears that setting (delete from all lists) is the now the default when deleting items from the Watchlist, with no Warning (Confirmation) prompt.
eburtonlab
·2 years agoI deleted an item from one of my custom lists and saw the popup that offered to either delete from only the custom list or from all lists just as you described.
I have tried both ways, and in either case, the next time I try to delete an item from the custom list I see the same set of options, and they appear to work as they should to either delete from one list or all lists.
moarlyfe
·2 years agoeburtonlab:
One does receive the option to delete only the present Custom list or from all lists when deleting from a Custom list.
When copying an item from the Watchlist to a Custom list, then deleting the item from only the Watchlist, the action taken by the system is to delete the item from all lists with out an option to delete only from the Watchlist.
eburtonlab
·2 years agoWhen copying an item from the Watchlist to a Custom list, then deleting the item from only the Watchlist, the action taken by the system is to delete the item from all lists with out an option to delete only from the Watchlist.
That seems to be what is happening.
@devon@ebay
There seems to be a major bug in the way that items are now deleted from the Watch List, which is deleting those items from every custom list as well.
devon@ebay
Hey @eburtonlab! As of this morning I do not see any sitewide tickets open on this. I will open a report on my end and recommend members reaching out to customer support to have a ticket open for their account.
eburtonlab
·2 years agoThanks, devon!
michna1234
·2 years agoHope it's resolved soon!
s8u8z8y8
·1 year agoFor me the point is whether you can delete an item from the main list and still have it appear on the custom list. To do that, as far as I can tell, you have to go back and forth from phone to PC, as arrrpirates suggests.