Another Obstacle To Signing In
When I sign in to eBay, a screen is displayed with this text.
Tired of passwords?
If you use your fingerprint, face, or PIN number to sign in to your computer, you can use that to sign in to eBay.
1) Turn on
2) Maybe later
I don't have the new and fancy hardware. Just a matched pair of refurbished 2010 desktop PC's with Windows 10 and the Edge browser.
How about adding another choice.
3) NEVER SHOW THIS SCREEN AGAIN
Wouldn't that increase our productivity by some fraction of 365 minutes or 6.08 hours a year?
9 comments
neutronium_cat
·1 year agoYes. 'never bother me again' with this nonsense. no fingerprint, no widows hello, no text, no picture. Forget it.
Today as I was logging in, I was stopped by an extra graphic on the login page telling me to verify with a fingerprint or "windows hello", or something else, maybe a text or picture, I didn't see what. The alternative was to put it off "for now".
For now, eh? Will eBay presume to force me to comply with the intrusive additional tracking method(s)?
If I do not comply, will eBay then Clutch Pearls at my recalcitrance, and with a haughty 'harrumph!', stop me from logging in? LOL
My picture is not on the internet, I don't use a cellphone for the internet, I don't use facbook or other SocMed, nor do I use fingerprint sensors, webcams, or microphones on the computer, and I will never join or get something as sappy as "Windows Hello". Just the name of that thing ought to be a dire warning.
The methods eBay suggests are intrusive and sticky. It is high-quality tracking, disguised as security for your own good. I'll just say no. eBay may or may not care about my patronage as a buyer, but I can honestly say that I don't need eBay. It's merely a convenience and a bit of fun shopping.
hosnibetty
·2 years agoHere to add another vote for adding a "do not ask again" feature. Its obnoxious bullying to extract more of our data. Leave us alone, give us a break, you are making enough money off of us already for gods sake.
ryanrobyn
·2 years agothese new sign in techniques don't work for all sellers. My husband does the packing and shipping so wouldn't be able to open Ebay on his computer. My fear is that Ebay will force one of these sign in types on its sellers
classic-strats
·2 years agoThey want this information just in time for a new spy bill that will force all websites to give your information over to them.
pburn
·5 years ago@onlinecentral
@collectfest
I never have to log into eBay--unless I've done a network reset or deleted all my cookies for some reason.
I'm using a Windows 10 OS with a Chrome browser on the desktop version. What are you using?
Are you accessing eBay with InPrivate browsing selected, maybe? Or are you deleting cookies upon exiting your browser? Anything like that?
collectfest
·5 years agoYou are correct. I do have my computer set to delete cookies every time I close my browser. I don't use Private mode. I know it is a bit odd but I travel a lot so its just something I do that most likely isn't necessary. Your right, wouldn't have to sign in so much if I changed my settings.
pburn
·5 years agoRight. As much as we all hate most cookies, it's the only way a website knows who you are. Double-edged sword, really.
central-vacmasters
·2 years agoBecause the username and password doesn't confirm who we are!?
eburtonlab
·2 years agoBecause the username and password doesn't confirm who we are!?
If I can discover your username and password, am I you? Should I be able to spend all your money?
Knowing your username and password confirms that I know your username and password. If no one ever shared or revealed a password, no networks were ever compromised, no data was ever breached or stolen, and no passwords were ever easily guessed, that might be enough. eBay is concerned about situations where more than one person may know the same username and password.
Cookies provide an indication that that browser was used previously to sign in to that account. The absence of that cookie might be an indication that you are using a new device or a new browser, or might have just erased cookies for some reason. Or it might be an indication that someone else is using your username and password for the first time to access your account.