xI want to STOP getting offers from items I have ONLY viewed..
How is it that any Seller is able to offer me, or even know of me, when all I did was look at an item posted?! Didn't even Like the item or add it to my cart. This seems to be far overreaching on eBay's part with regard to a buyer's privacy and autonomy. It is one thing when I "like" an item and "heart" it so that I can potentially purchase or bid on it, but getting an offer for just randomly LOOKing at a posting?! REALLY?!
7 comments
mudshark61369
·5 months ago@merf11 ,
If the messages you are referring to are the "Special offer from seller" ones the only way to stop receiving them is: When you open a listing and see the Sponsored images of other seller's same or similar items. Do not click on them.
Those sellers pay a fee to get the increased search visibility, and the ability to send offers to those who click on the listings. How soon after you click on one, before getting an offer depends on the number of views a seller has chosen, that triggers the offers to be sent automatically by ebay, to those who viewed those items. The sellers themselves do not know who receives the messages.
Because there is a fee for the sponsored listings, ebay does not allow those messages to be blocked.
redmodelt
·5 months agoThe seller does not know if you looked or who you are. It's a computer algorithm that sends offers to viewers that looked at the item along with ones that are watching the listing when the seller does offers. Pretty sure the seller can't even see the actual username of any watchers either, just that they have X number that have it on their saved list.
stainlessenginecovers
·5 months agoYou looked.
You were interested.
Nothing new.
Google and all these 'types' have been doing it for years.
Stop worrying about it.
Delete is your friend.
christworks
·5 months ago@merf11 It has to do with how long you are lingering on the listing. They do not disclose what amount of time they consider worthy of an offer, and it is possible the time may vary from listing to listing. If 5 other buyers looked at that listing and spent 30 seconds today, then you came along and spent one minute, that may have triggered it.
You can set your account up so that you do not get any offers at all or, if you still want some offers, you can follow @simba6 's advice.
simba6
·5 months agoLog out of eBay and clear cookies and cache. Then do your shopping. They won't know who you are. You will have to log back in to bid, buy or access your my eBay page.
mtgraves7984
·5 months agoI agree that it's somewhat creepy and invasive. But it is what it is...
msha3839
·5 months agoGet used to it …🥃