Sign In
Every time I sign in to my eBay account I get notification someone has signed into my account. I use the same device every time I sign in. Am I the only person this happens to?
thanks
1 comment
Every time I sign in to my eBay account I get notification someone has signed into my account. I use the same device every time I sign in. Am I the only person this happens to?
thanks
eburtonlab
Mentor2 years agoSomeone has indeed signed in to your account: you.
eBay sends such messages for each sign-in from an unrecognized browser. Unrecognized just means that the browser has no cookies from a previous sign-in to that account, or the IP address does not correspond to a previous sign-in.
If you are routinely erasing your browser cookies, or changing your network address, you can expect to receive such messages when you sign in again. Likewise if you use a VPN or a hotspot, or certain kinds of privacy software.
Do the browser, location and time correspond to your own sign-in activity? If so, you can ignore the message.
Keep in mind that the location may not be precise; it may correspond to the location of the network rather than your actual location. Browser information may not always be available.
If you do not recognize the location, time or browser, and you suspect that someone else may have gained access to your account, you may want to change your eBay password.