Seller Cancelled my bid
An item became available which I placed a bid on. It had over 6 days remaining until it ended. There was no buy it now option. A few hours later the seller cancelled my bid and I noticed when I called up the item that the item was sold to someone with buy it now for $600. Can the seller do this?
2 comments
woodland_gnome
·3 years agoYes. If it is the same listing where the item sold for a $600 BIN (showing as a "bid" but with the BIN logo on the same Bid History Page as the record of the cancellation of your bid at the bottom) then the seller cancelled all bids so the BIN button would return and someone could use it (whether that was his/her intent or s/he cancelled the bid(s) for some other reason and the buyer saw the BIN and used it only they would know). You should be able to see the reason the seller gave for cancelling your bid if you are logged in (to that account if you have more than one).
If it is a different listing where the BIN was used then the seller cancelled all bids and ended the auction early without a winner, incurring a fee based on the highest cancelled bid, and relisted.
Both actions are permissible under eBay rules.
mr_lincoln
Mentor3 years agoHi @ronb8031
Yes, Sellers can cancel any bid they want ... if they do it in the last 12 hours of the auction cycle and then End the listing they will pay a fee if memory serves.