If you mean the pre-authorization of payment you were required to give to make an offer or bid, you don't. You can change or edit your default payment method using the link the other responder gave you, but that does not remove the requirement to pre-authorize payment for offers or bids, whichever you were doing. You pre-authorized payment because you are in the group that is required to do so for offers or bids (or both) unless the seller has opted out of that program for his/her listings and you wanted to make an offer/bid, it was not that you were put in the program because you chose to participate. eBay assigned you for whatever reason only the bots know (it likely has nothing to do with your buying patterns or feedback or past performance, I'm guessing it's just random for most users). Allowing buyers to opt out would defeat the purpose (which is NOT because it is more convenient for buyers or whatever lies the PR employees are trying out this week).
eBay has been "experimenting" with requiring pre-authorization of payment for Best Offers for over a year and a half (started prior to Halloween 2021), adding more and more users into the test group required to do so (sellers can opt their listings out of it; buyers cannot opt out once they are assigned). Too many users were making offers and then not paying when it was accepted, and too many of those were scammers who would try to get the seller to text or email them to get their number/email address to send fake payment messages to.
Not sure whether or not they have officially made it permanent yet or it continues "experimentally." They started trying it out on auction bids (with a smaller group of buyers that is growing) in Spring or early Summer 2023.
woodland_gnome
·2 years agoIf you mean the pre-authorization of payment you were required to give to make an offer or bid, you don't. You can change or edit your default payment method using the link the other responder gave you, but that does not remove the requirement to pre-authorize payment for offers or bids, whichever you were doing. You pre-authorized payment because you are in the group that is required to do so for offers or bids (or both) unless the seller has opted out of that program for his/her listings and you wanted to make an offer/bid, it was not that you were put in the program because you chose to participate. eBay assigned you for whatever reason only the bots know (it likely has nothing to do with your buying patterns or feedback or past performance, I'm guessing it's just random for most users). Allowing buyers to opt out would defeat the purpose (which is NOT because it is more convenient for buyers or whatever lies the PR employees are trying out this week).
eBay has been "experimenting" with requiring pre-authorization of payment for Best Offers for over a year and a half (started prior to Halloween 2021), adding more and more users into the test group required to do so (sellers can opt their listings out of it; buyers cannot opt out once they are assigned). Too many users were making offers and then not paying when it was accepted, and too many of those were scammers who would try to get the seller to text or email them to get their number/email address to send fake payment messages to.
Not sure whether or not they have officially made it permanent yet or it continues "experimentally." They started trying it out on auction bids (with a smaller group of buyers that is growing) in Spring or early Summer 2023.
rfmtm
Mentor2 years agohttps://ppcapp.ebay.com/myppc/wallet/list