Because you made a bid or offer that required you to authorize automatic payment if your won/seller accepted. You see this on the confirm screen where there are sections to set or change your payment method and shipping address (the authorization language is between that and the button to submit the bid/offer).
eBay had been "experimenting" with requiring pre-authorization of payment for Best Offers for over a year and a half (started prior to Halloween 2021), adding more and more users into the test group required to do so (sellers can opt their listings out of it; buyers cannot opt out). Too many users were making offers and then not paying when it was accepted, and too many of those were scammers who would try to get the seller to text or email them to get their number/email address to send fake payment messages to.
They have in Fall 2023 officially made it permanent and all buyers are now required to pre-authorize payment for Best Offers they make on listings for sellers who have not opted out of the program.
They started trying it out on auction bids in Spring or early Summer 2023 but that seemed to have ended early this year, but then came back with more and more buyers being added to the test group required to do it if the seller hasn't opted out.
woodland_gnome
·2 years agoBecause you made a bid or offer that required you to authorize automatic payment if your won/seller accepted. You see this on the confirm screen where there are sections to set or change your payment method and shipping address (the authorization language is between that and the button to submit the bid/offer).
eBay had been "experimenting" with requiring pre-authorization of payment for Best Offers for over a year and a half (started prior to Halloween 2021), adding more and more users into the test group required to do so (sellers can opt their listings out of it; buyers cannot opt out). Too many users were making offers and then not paying when it was accepted, and too many of those were scammers who would try to get the seller to text or email them to get their number/email address to send fake payment messages to.
They have in Fall 2023 officially made it permanent and all buyers are now required to pre-authorize payment for Best Offers they make on listings for sellers who have not opted out of the program.
They started trying it out on auction bids in Spring or early Summer 2023 but that seemed to have ended early this year, but then came back with more and more buyers being added to the test group required to do it if the seller hasn't opted out.