Auto Relist How to Turn Off
I'm fairly new to eBay and the only answers I've found on the community are several years old and are no longer applicable when I try to follow the directions. I have an item on a second 10 day auction that I don't think will sell and I want to wait until spring to relist it. I don't want eBay to continue to relist it for more auctions but I can't find a way to turn off auto relist. Thank you to anyone out there who can tell me what has worked for you.
8 comments
inceptions
Mentor2 years agoYou can turn off auto-relist in the listing form. Click Revise on the listing to make the change so that it won't relist after this auction finishes. I would allow the active auction to run to completion - you may sell it.
frie_593662
OP2 years agoSince I plan to relist in the spring I decided to let the relisting run its course since I don't want to be faulted by eBay for ending an auction. Thanks for that suggestion. I really appreciate your help.
inceptions
Mentor2 years ago@frie_593662
If you like, you don't need to end the auction...just turn off the auto-relist option (using the Revise link on the item listing). The auction will run to completion, but won't relist.
mr_lincoln
Mentor2 years agoHi @frie_593662 You can End an Auction without issue unless it has active bids ... and if it has Active bids you will sell it anyway ... the link that @inceptions included in their post explains the End process and when fees may apply.
lisa5768
Mentor2 years ago@frie_593662
Turning off auto relisting depends on the listing tool you used to create the listing and the format. If you used the app or the quick listing tool on a PC or browser to list an auction your listings will relist up to 8 times automatically if they do not sell. You will need to end them if you do not want them to relist.
https://www.ebay.com/help/selling/listings/creating-managing-listings/ending-listing?id=4146&st=3&po...
If you used the New Listing Tool (you can add both pictures and video) to list an auction you can select EDIT from the menu next to the item on the active listings page: https://www.ebay.com/sh/lst/active Next select edit all options on the far right of the pricing/ format section and toggle off the auto relist option.
If you do not want your auctions to relist if they do not sell you need to create them using the new listing tool. Here is the direct link to start your listing. How to turn of auto relist is in the information above.
https://www.ebay.com/sl/prelist/suggest?sr=shstart
frie_593662
OP2 years agoThank you so much for your detailed response. I really appreciate your kindness. I didn't even know there was a New Listing Tool but I'll use it from now on.
mr_lincoln
Mentor2 years agoHi @frie_593662
I believe the Auto Relist happens when a listing is created through the phone app on a new account and possible a PC on a new account.
You have to End the listing by using the pull-down menu on the item (on the left) and select End. The item will be moved to your Unsold file where it will remain for 90 days, no longer. If you want to wait for spring save the pics and copy the description and save in a word doc so you can create the listing again outside the 90 day window.
Of course you could also Relist it on day 89 then End it a day later so it goes back in the Unsold file for 90 days and not have to create a new listing,
frie_593662
OP2 years agoThank you so much for your reply. Moving an item to the Unsold file is a great idea which I was completely unaware of. The eBay community is incredibly helpful to new sellers.