cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Weight and dimensions, and the new International Shipping program

I've been selling online and on eBay for many years, but I haven't done much international shipping, and I never used the GSP. I'm considering opting into the new International Shipping program, but I want to fully understand the possible pitfalls first.

I'm looking for some clarity on how weight and dimensions affect the process. Currently I don't enter weight and dimensions into any of my listings. My domestic shipping charges are flat fees that are "close enough" based on my experience. For larger items, I use rate tables with one rate for the lower 48 and a higher rate for AK/HI/PR. I have a set of tables based on various weights and dimensions and I pick the one that seems closest for a given listing.

The two main scenarios of concern are the following:

A) International buyer purchases an item, but it's too large/heavy for the international shipping requirements

B) Item meets the shipping requirements, but the amounts shown/charged to the international buyer are eBay-generated numbers that are based on totally wrong estimated weights and dimensions

Given that it appears eBay will allow me to turn on International Shipping without entering weights and dimensions in my listings, what are my responsibilities in these cases? Would I receive a defect if I'm forced to cancel an order because the package turns out to be too large or heavy? Would I (or the buyer) face additional fees or other unpleasant surprises in either of these scenarios?

Just looking for anyone else who lists some larger/heavier items and has experience with what happens in these situations. It would be very time-consuming if I had to enter accurate weights and dimensions on all my listings in order to effectively use this program, especially because I doubt I would get a ton of new international business.