cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to delay a shipment without losing Top Seller status

Hello friends.

I have been selling rare trees on eBay since 2007.   I mainly sell Japanese Maples and conifers.   I often get asked by my buyers if I can delay shipping a tree due to cold temperatures or some other reason (buyer will be out of town).   This puts me in a difficult spot, as I have to ship within 5 business days to keep my Top Seller status.   Is there a "work around" to delay shipping an item so that I don't violate the 5day shipping rule?     I have held shipments in the past at the request of buyers, only to temporarily lose my Top Seller status.   I show eBay that messages from the buyer requested the delay, but I lost Top Seller status regardless.  Thanks for any help.

Brian

Message 1 of 8
latest reply
7 REPLIES 7

@pagesrunnursery wrote:

Hello friends.

I have been selling rare trees on eBay since 2007.   I mainly sell Japanese Maples and conifers.   I often get asked by my buyers if I can delay shipping a tree due to cold temperatures or some other reason (buyer will be out of town).   This puts me in a difficult spot, as I have to ship within 5 business days to keep my Top Seller status.   Is there a "work around" to delay shipping an item so that I don't violate the 5day shipping rule?     I have held shipments in the past at the request of buyers, only to temporarily lose my Top Seller status.   I show eBay that messages from the buyer requested the delay, but I lost Top Seller status regardless.  Thanks for any help.

Brian

For those who ask in advance you addressed the problem nicely in your description.