cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ridiculous Listing Fees

I’m currently trying to sell two of my 50’s-60’s vehicles because I’m a college student and money is tight. I came to eBay because I had good luck selling niche vehicles here a few years ago. Now when I go to list my vehicles, I found that in order to post a vehicle for sale with a reserve, there’s a fee of $50! I can’t afford $100 in fees especially if they don’t sell! What happened to being able to list vehicles for free, and pay a fee after it sells? Does anyone have better options?

Message 1 of 13
latest reply
12 REPLIES 12

Ridiculous Listing Fees

Don't use a reserve. 

Message 2 of 13
latest reply

Ridiculous Listing Fees

Don't use the auction format.  List at fixed price, using whatever your reserve figure was as the price. Reserves are costly, and buyers dislike them.

Read here what you get for $19 if you list that way, with a Basic Package:

https://www.ebay.com/help/selling/fees-credits-invoices/motors-fees?id=4127

-

Message 3 of 13
latest reply

Ridiculous Listing Fees

If they are 50's-60's classics you have a number of options for selling them with eBay being just one of those. Depending on the area you are located in and what type of vehicles they are you may want to try some local forums first. 

If you are going to use eBay both maxine*j and doc-holmes provided some good suggestions. If you want to use the auction format, which I believe may be a good option in your case, set the starting price at the lowest price you are willing to accept and don't use OBO. 

Message 4 of 13
latest reply

Ridiculous Listing Fees

@2500flyboy wrote: