cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buyers Asking for PayPal Info

Hello!

I’m new to selling on EBay and am excited to be part of the community!  My first “sold item” went off without a hitch, however, for the next 2 items sold, the Seller is asking for me to send them my PayPal email address and/or asking me to text them.  I’ve read that this is often a sign of a scam and I know that this information is not needed to make a purchase, nor should it be requested, per Ebay policy however, I’m wondering… What do you tell Buyers when they ask for this?

Thank you!

Message 1 of 11
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Re: Buyers Asking for PayPal Info

Congratulations on your sales!

What you mentioned is definitely a scam and against eBay's rules.  I don't like to be rude or presumptuous, but I notice you have a low feedback score.  Though it can happen to any seller, those targeted first by scammers tend to be new sellers with low feedback scores.  Though not a requirement, and some new sellers just roll with it, typically new eBayers spend some time buying some items and establishing a feedback score before trying to sell.

Be vigilant; anybody asking to complete transactions outside of eBay or asking for your contact information outside of eBay's official channels is, at worst, a scammer, and at best, breaking eBay rules.

View Best Answer in original post

Message 7 of 11
latest reply
10 REPLIES 10

Feel free to not respond at all.  As you know, no buyer needs that information, and, yes, it is often the sign of a scammer.

Tell them all they need to do is bid or buy and they have all the information they need to do that.

Do not engage in off-eBay communication.  

Message 2 of 11
latest reply

You're about to be scammed.