cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Blocking a potential buyer before they ever buy anything

I've been selling on here for over 20 years, and I've developed a 6th sense for being able to detect a trouble buyer just based on messages they send to me asking questions about what I'm selling.  I won't point to anything specific, but often I just know.   You can just tell buy what they're asking and how they're asking it that they're going to be trouble.  And more often than not, I end up being right.

I've gotten to the point of being tempted to just plain block these people before they ever make a purchase.  Is this an appropriate action, or does it have any potential downfalls (other than possibly losing a legitimate sale) ?

Message 1 of 19
latest reply
18 REPLIES 18

@brandonsvsu 

Never question your 6th sense! Absolutely go with your gut!

People who send numerous messages, especially about information already in a description, we have found to be more trouble down the road.

Not to say all buyers who ask questions are trouble, but if your gut says they will be, block and move on.

Happy Selling 🛍

Kiks

Message 2 of 19
latest reply

To the best of my knowledge, any seller can block any seller for any reason, or for no reason at all.

Message 3 of 19
latest reply

I know I've blocked ID's whose "Feedback left" reflected a disproportionate amount of red donuts, I normally don't check buyer feedback in that sense but on certain special occasions I may.