cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Private Listing - Bidders' Identities Protected

I have been buying and bidding on eBay for many years.  Today, I ran across this listing that I have never seen before.  From what I gather, it is the seller who has it as a private listing.  But, the seller's information is up to view as well as the item up for public bidding so, why or how is there a "private" aspect involved?

I find this uncomfortable and how can you tell if the auction is legitimate and not the seller running up the price by bidding on their own item?

Message 1 of 18
latest reply
17 REPLIES 17

I'm confused. The bidders' identities are always anonymous.

If it was a private listing, how were you able to get in to see it?

Message 2 of 18
latest reply

Private listing, I think, only refers to the feedback page. When you look at people's feedback, you can usually click on the item to see what they purchased to get/receive that feedback. On a private listing it just says private so no one can see what the item was.

Message 3 of 18
latest reply

The help page says it's so buyer's can be anonymous on high ticket items or pharmaceuticals. Only the seller can see the bidder's names.

https://www.ebay.com/help/selling/listings/listing-tips/private-listings?id=4161&st=2&pos=1&query=Pr...

Message 4 of 18
latest reply

It definitely was not a high ticket item or drugs.  Was a piece of costume jewelry that went for $15.

Message 5 of 18
latest reply

Yeah, that seems a little fishy!
Message 6 of 18
latest reply

I have always seen the bidder's abbreviated login name, how much they bidded, and if you click on their link, can see what they have bidded on recently, in what categorybids2.jpgbids.jpg.

Message 7 of 18
latest reply

It is a relic from the time before ebay made ALL Buyer's names anonymous.
Message 8 of 18
latest reply

@old.crows.nest wrote:
It is a relic from the time before ebay made ALL Buyer's names anonymous.