cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pricing: why do 2 EXACT SAME Beanies get ending prices of either $8.50 or TWO THOUSAND (2k) scam?

I have been researching this awhile, because I thought I had a collection worth TONS of money after checking the prices on ebay.  I feverishly looked up nuances & errors, took crisp detailed pictures of the supposed rare ones (the red pig (i am an amateur if you can't tell), the princess bear, curly etc etc etc (you know the ones that get WAYYY too much in auction)...  Then, I noticed something.

EVERY SINGLE AUCTION that ended with a high price only had one bidder, and that 1 bidder usually only had 1 feedback.  There are no complaints/returns on the auctions, everything seems normal.  Then, when you click "show original auction', it will say 'the buyer relisted the item, if you want to see current, click here".

There is some scam going on with overpricing Beanies (maybe inflate the market?  Maybe buy yourself and use a a tax deduction you sell vintage items??? I don't know!!!)

But what I do know is these Beanie Babies are worth less than 10% of what these super high (1k-10k)  auctions are showing... Something is off.  Not ONE of my big auctions sold and I purposely put them at much lower (but high-priced for my opinion, maybe $500 for ones selling for 5k), ZERO INTEREST.  Not one question, not one offer.  There is some kind of scam going on in the Beanie community, I just cant put my finger on it yet... yet!!! (by the way I am a very-versed IT Consultant and I WILL get to the bottom of this after wasting so much time trying to sell them!)