eBay
  • Daily Deals
  • Sell
  • Customer Support
  • Shop Deals
Community Member

What kind of GE Console Phonograph is this?

Greetings!

I picked up this GE Console Phonograph from a yard sale about 3 months ago. I've had it sitting outside my house for quite some time now. My dad is upset and considers it an eye sore. So I wanted to know to if it was worth anything or if I should just scrap it. (I have no knowledge of console phonographs.)

I was hoping to find insight of someone knowledgeable with phonographs. From what I've learned from playing with this so far is:

1) When I plug it in radio still works and it sounds great!
2) I do not know if the stylus works :smileysad:
3) The previous owners appear to have attempted to have the phonograph serviced and I have taken a few pictures of what they gave me.
4) Phonograph appears to have been taken well care of. No clearly visible signs of neglect or damage.

I was hoping to figure out if this phonograph is worth much or some type of history behind it if any (such as the date or rarity). Or should i just leave it on the curb and wait for someone to pick it up and possibly scrap it :smileysad:

Thank you!

Here are the photo's:

For larger more detailed photo's you can find them in this folder:
http://tony.thomasacruz.com/phono/Full%20View/
Please use plain text.
Community Member

Re: What kind of GE Console Phonograph is this?

in reply to snowdorf
Well, I'd say it's a model A236m. :-)

These were pretty common in the '60s, and there was a huge variety of models, since the innards were all the same (note how modular the inside is: turntable assembly and tuner/amp, dropped into two holes), and thus they were sold on the basis of which style of cabinetry matched your living room: Modern, Danish, Mediterranean, whatever.