eBay
  • Daily Deals
  • Sell
  • Customer Support
bmanoc
Community Member

As a seller, what do I do when USPS loses my package??

I have been buying on eBay for many years, but selling for about one year. For the first time, a package has been lost by USPS and I need some help moving forward.

I paid for and printed my label at home on Friday, 02 Aug. First class mail, no insurance, it was only $20 for curl cream. The package was dropped off at my local USPS office on the morning of Saturday, 03 Aug. I dropped off two packages at the same time. The out of state package has been delivered, but the in state package does not even show that it was dropped off at the post office. The only message shown when I try to track online is that the electronic shipping info has been received. That's probably the scariest part, it didn't register at any location. I called the USPS 800 number, but they could not give me any additional information. Instead, I was told to go to my local post office and ask them to search the premises in case it had accidentally been thrown somewhere or gotten stuck etc. The office refused to look ("I wouldn't have a job if things like that happened here!"), but had me fill out a 1510 form. I was told that a portion would be sent to the receiver (buyer) who would have to sign that the package was never delivered, then it would go to the buyer's local office for a search, then my local office for a search, then an investigator.... I spoke with eBay customer service as well who told me to keep waiting for the package to be delivered and that the buyer could file a claim against me for not receving the package. Not so helpful. Throughout all of this, I have been in contact with my buyer explaining the situation. The first response stated that they would wait for the package, but the second said issue me a refund and if it does show up i will paypal you.