cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unreasonable Increase for placing a "Reserve" on cars for sale.

The arbitary increase of $40.00 for placing a reserve price on cars for sale hurts my bottom line.  I know Ebay needs to make money, but it shouldn't be on the back's of sellers. Why was this fee initiated? Was it necessary or just plain greed on Ebay's part.

Message 1 of 16
latest reply
15 REPLIES 15

Pure greed. $15 to $40 with no differance between a $700 car or a $70,000 car. It's bad enough when they eliminated free relisting. This will just increase the number of fake bidders helping the seller bid up their listing.

Message 2 of 16
latest reply

I've been selling here with a Buy-it-Now for the last 12 or 13 years, can't remember when I switched over.

Bidding is somewhat outdated in this environment.  List with a buy it now and be done with it.

If someone wants to bid in $10 increments on a car, let them start their own web site.

Message 3 of 16
latest reply

....or maybe it's because vehicle listings with reserves often need to be run many times before they sell, or never sell at all, and tend to discourage shoppers (I know I like to see either no-reserve auctions or Buy-It-Now listings- if i start seeing a bunch of auctions with reserves, I get discouraged and tend to go away)- so maybe Ebay is setting the high fee to discourage people from using reserves on every little vehicle listing.

Obviously, it's not to make money, because few people are going to pay $40 just to set a reserve. 

That being said....Ebay treats it's sellers like Pavlov treats his dog....

Message 4 of 16
latest reply

it has finally gotten to the point that I  quit buying or selling cars on ebay. I did the same with using  Uship a few years ago when they raised fees to the point they , not me or the shipper were just getting richer on schmucks who dont mind having their clocks cleaned 

Message 5 of 16
latest reply