cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is hydrogenated oil in skin care bad???

hlcrose
Thrill-Seeker
I know hydrogenated oil is bad for our health, it's good to see that lots of food companies stopped using it.

What about in skin care?? Some cosmetic companies still use it, if it's used topically, does it do damage to our skin/health in the long run?

Thank you
Message 1 of 13
latest reply
12 REPLIES 12

laerley
Thrill-Seeker
My guess would be : you may be the very first person to have asked/considered that question (seriously).
Message 2 of 13
latest reply

Skin cannot absorb oils like that, so I doubt that it is harmful for you. Was there a particular type of oil you were considering putting onto your skin?
Message 3 of 13
latest reply

As a wellness consultant, I would not recommend using personal care products containing hydrogenated oil. Our skin is the largest bodily organ. Like the rest of our organs, the skin absorbs every substance that comes in contact with it. Sadly, I had a hair conditioner which contained it (purchased from a "health" company) - that went into the trash when I discovered it on the label.

Hydrogenated oil is a trans-fat. Trans-fatty acids hinder the everyday functioning of our bodies causing a multitude of chronic diseases including heart disease, cancer and many more. Trans-fats cause an estimated 30,000 premature deaths annually. According to Consumer Affairs, nearly 13 million Americans suffer from coronary heart disease, and more than 500,000 die each year from causes related to coronary heart disease.