eBay
  • Daily Deals
  • Sell
  • Customer Support
qualityforlessells
Community Member

How long does a buyer have to open a case and request a refund, lost items?

I have been selling phones through craigslist for a few years and decided to become more active on Ebay. I am beginning to think I should end selling on ebay because the seller protection sucks against lying buyers.

How long does a buyer have to file a dispute for a phone after receiving it? Is it really 45 days from what i have been reading???!!!!! Anything could go wrong with technology after a few days of being purchased. "knock on wood" Now I am scared to list anything here again. Ebay has been making $800 a month in fees from me, it might not seem much to some but I have had returns that absolutely had no issues and buyers just wanted a refund.

Please tell me 45 days is wrong. More like 7 days to file a claim would be perfect this is ridiculous.

Another question that I have is, How can you file a claim for a phone that goes missing from the postal office. I always ship everything with insurance and signature confirmation but what do they require the seller to confirm the price of the phone? Everything that I buy is straight off good ol craigslist and i do not get any receipts for anything obviously.

Please use plain text.
qualityforlessells
Community Member

Re: How long does a buyer have to open a case and request a refund, lost items?

in reply to qualityforlessells

Anyone?

Please use plain text.
Community Member

I'm having similar problems as well . I just sold a phone that was described as a "bad imei" phone and clearly mentioned that it wouldn't work with t-mobile. Now buyer is asking for a refund because he was told that it wouldn't connect.
I sent you a pm so we could discuss these issues more
Please use plain text.
soliddealsonline
Community Member

Buyers have 45 days to open an Item Not As Described or an Item Not Received case with PayPal.