cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Am I being scammed or am I just a paranoid first time seller?

dysautogirl
Enthusiast

Hey everyone I'm new to eBay, and I originally made my account to buy a few things but now that money is tight right now I decided to sell. I posted a listing for a iPhone 4S with bad ESN, please know that it's not stolen like people think bad ESN phones are, I simply couldn't pay the bill and I stated that in the listing. Within FOUR minutes of posting the listing someone bought the phone, for $200 plus $4.95 shipping. I read some fourms on here about people buying iPhones,paying for them, then claim they did not receive it and open up a claim or they will take stuff out the phone then make up a lie to get a fund. The buyer has good feedback, and I decided to see what he bought from those people, to my surprise he bought all iPhones (all 16 feedbacks were from people he bought iPhones from) I dont understand why someone would want all these iPhones, he bought all of them within 30 days. His account address is to a suite in  NY. After reading all the fourms about the scammers I am kind of nervous. Can someone give me advice? He just officially paid for the item 20 minutes ago so I dont have long before I have to head up to the post office and mail it. Do you think its a scammer or not? It surprised me someone bought it within 4 minutes of posting it, and the fact it sold for $200 with a bad ESN - $200 can buy a new iPhone with a contract and clean ESN so that's why I'm surprised

Message 1 of 44
latest reply
43 REPLIES 43

Re: Am I being scammed or am I just a paranoid first time seller?

The fact that the buyer has purchased a number of other iPhones, as well as the fact that their address is probably a business address tells me that they are likely a business that buys them for business purposes (such as using them for parts or reselling them).

I would not be worried about it.

Message 2 of 44