cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slabbed coins by INB

OK.  I know (now) that INB grades aren't reliable.  But, I took a flyer and bought a lot of 100 slabbed coins for $200 that are "graded" by INB. 

My real question is: 

Would it be better to:
  1. Keep them slabbed and tagged and sell them as INB graded?
  2. Keep them slabbed and remove the INB grading label (if possible without destroying the slab) and sell them as ungraded?
  3. or
  4. Remove them from the slabs and sell them as loose coins?

I haven't received them yet, so I don't know how hard it would be to remove the label or unslab them.
Also, I'm just getting started in this, and was unaware of INB's reputation when I bought them, but have learned a lot from this community discussion!
Thanks for any insight you can provide.

Message 1 of 48
latest reply
47 REPLIES 47

Slabbed coins by INB

I'd send them all back as soon as you get them. Otherwise, you can spend them.

Message 2 of 48
latest reply

Slabbed coins by INB

And without seeing them, you base this on what?

Message 3 of 48
latest reply

Slabbed coins by INB

on the fact that they are in INB slabs...

Message 4 of 48
latest reply

Slabbed coins by INB

Which in some cases are selling for more than PCGS slabs of the same grade.  I know they are not reputable, just looking for an answer to the question I asked.

INB: 2000 S Roosevelt Dime DCAM
PCGS: 2000 S Roosevelt Dime DCAM

Thanks.

Message 5 of 48
latest reply

Slabbed coins by INB

*sigh*

INB slabs are basically less than worthless, as they command a negative premium...

Message 6 of 48
latest reply

Slabbed coins by INB

I know it's easy to slam this company, but how about an answer to the question I asked?  From what I've received so far, break them open and sell them as loose coins.

You have a great reputation *smedley*, but the first response kind of set me off.

Message 7 of 48
latest reply

Slabbed coins by INB

You're entirely welcome.